Nafeesah Andrabi among Winners of "Making Change" Contest

The Claremont City Council recognized winners of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Making Change contest at its regularly scheduled Council meeting on February 8, 2005. Now in its fifteenth year, the annual contest is sponsored by the Committee on Human Relations in recognition of Martin Luther King, Jr. and other advocates of Human Rights. "Making Change" is designed to increase awareness among Claremont youth of the contributions and personal sacrifices made by Dr. King and other human rights activists. Students were asked to submit individual or group entries meeting guidelines designed specifically for their age category.

These were judged on the basis of originality and how well entries demonstrated an understanding of the ideals of human rights and equality, and whether the author or artist(s) incorporated personal insights or experiences. Individual winners receive a $100 US Savings Bond while group winners are awarded certificates. The winners of the 2005 Making Change contest in the individual categories are: Eve Mefferd, collage titled "As We Join Hands, We Join Hearts!" Grade 1 Sycamore Elementary School, teacher Ms. Caroline Lee. Grace Han, collage titled "Ruby Bridges is a Hero," Grade 3 Sycamore Elementary School, teacher Ms. Diane Rus. Elizabeth Williams, letter "To President George H.W. Bush," Grade 6 Condit Elementary School, teacher Mr. Dennis Simpson. Jessica Page, poem titled "A Dream," Grade 8 Our Lady of the Assumption School, teachers Ms. Kafmira Coleman, Ms. Lori Knapp. Nafeesah Andrabi, essay entitled "Abdul Satta Edhi – A Paradigm of Humanity,” Grade 9 Claremont High School, teacher Ms. Tonatzin Rodriguez David Merten-Jones, essay entitled "Wake Up America!: The Civil Rights Contributions of John Lewis," Grade 12, Claremont High School, teacher Ms. Jane Purcell. The winners for “Best Group Entry” in the 2005 Making Change contest are: "Remember Dr. King," Sumner Elementary School, 2nd Grade class, teacher Ms. Patricia Colinco. "Fannie Lou Hamer" Carrie Liao, James Liao, and Eugene Jhun, Claremont High School.


Editor: Akhtar M. Faruqui
© 2004 . All Rights Reserved.