Ramadan Begins on Sept 1, Eid on Oct 1

An announcement of the Shura Council of Southern California states: In coordination with the Fiqh Council of North America, the Islamic Shura Council of Southern California is pleased to announce the beginning and ending of Ramadan 1429H.
The astronomical new moon for Ramadan is on Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 19:58 universal time (i.e., 3:58 pm EDT, and 12:58 pm PDT). According to the criteria adopted by the Fiqh Council of North America and European Council for Fatwa and Research, [the conjunction before sunset and moon setting after sunset in Makkah] the first day of Ramadan is on Monday, September 1, 2008.
The astronomical new moon for Shawwal is on Monday, September 29, 2008 at 8:12 GMT, 4:12 am EDT, 1:12 am PDT)… the first day of Shawwal is on Wednesday, October 1, 2008.

 

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Editor: Akhtar M. Faruqui
2004 pakistanlink.com . All Rights Reserved.