Pakistani Women Parliamentarians Visit US

Glimpses of the reception hosted by Ambassador Hussain Haqqani in honor of the women parliamentarians from Pakistan in Washington, DC

Washington, DC: Ambassador Husain Haqqani has urged international community including the United States to come forward to support the people of Pakistan in their dreams of making Pakistan a strong and stable democracy, economically vibrant country where human rights and dignity are respected. The Ambassador was speaking at a reception hosted in honor of visiting women Parliamentarians from Pakistan. The delegation reflected all shades of the political spectrum in Pakistan.

“The Parliamentary delegation visiting United States provides an opportunity for the democratic forces of the two countries to share their vision and to work together to transform the relationship into one of mutual understanding and appreciation”, said Ambassador Haqqani. He said that the Pak-American community stands united to protect and promote social and economic interests of the country. He emphasized that we may have political differences at home but when we are visiting other countries we should reflect the national cohesion.

The Parliamentarians intermingled with the guests at the reception which included prominent Pakistani-Americans, US Administration officials and the media community. There was a keen interest in the US media to interact with the Parliamentarians and get to know how progressive women in Pakistan are contributing to strengthen democracy in the country.

The Parliamentary delegation visited the Capitol Hill and met with Congressmen including Congressman David Price, Congressman Dan Burton, Congressman Chris Van Hollen and Congresswomen Sheila Jackson Lee. They also visited prominent think-tanks, Department of State and Defense, National Counterterrorism Centre and USAID. A visit to Texas, Minnesota and North Carolina is included in the delegation’s itinerary.

The delegation included MNA Nasim Chaudhry(PPP), MNA Memoona Javed Hashmi ( PML N), MNA Sumaira Yasir Rashid (PML N), MNA Marvi Memon (PML Q) and MNA Fouzia Ejaz Khan (MQM).



Editor: Akhtar M. Faruqui
2004 . All Rights Reserved.