International Leadership Foundation( ILF)Awards Community Leaders
A Pakistan Link Report
Pictures by Faiz Ahmed

The International Leadership Foundation (ILF) inaugurated its Greater Los Angeles and Orange County Advisory Board. The event was highlighted by the presentation of excellence in service awards to Dr. Meher Tabatabai, a prominent Pakistani physician and philanthropist, FOX TV, Emmy Award winning, Japanese American broadcaster, Tricia Takasugi, and Sheriff Lee Baca.

The keynote speakers were Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA32), Mayor of Irvine, Sukhee Kang, and Founder ILF, Joel Szabat, also Deputy Asst. Secretary of Transportation.

ILF LA/OC Chairwoman, Anila Ali, who thanked her and commended her staff of their excellence communication and courtesy, welcomed Congresswoman Chu.

In her speech, Rep. Chu recounted her advocacy for dis crimination and highlighted the importance of ILF as a gateway for the Asian American youth into the corridors of power, private and public. The second keynote speaker, Sukhee Kang, the first Asian American mayor of Irvine, stated the importance of seeking good education to fulfill the American dream. In his keynote speech, Joel Szabat's reiterated the mission of ILF: to promote civic involvement and entrepreneurial spirit of the future leaders of the Asian Pacific American community. He also provided an in depth insight into President Obama's efforts to create green jobs, improve energy efficiency, and explained the President's smart vision for transportation for California.

Chiling Tong, ILF CEO, recounted the years of mentorship to youth provided by ILF and how it continues to inspire and motivate the Asian American leaders of the future by "bringing them closer to their government so that they may learn how public policy works and how to use government in their fields."

The nine fellows going to Washington Dc from Califronia were recognized, amongst them were Leila Shauk, Kevin Wu, and Hassan Mukhlis.

The Orange County chapter is headed by a group of powerful Asian American leaders, chairwoman being, Anila Ali, Adnan Khan, Gazala Adaya Shauk, Dr.Sohail Siddiqi, and Hamid Malik




Editor: Akhtar M. Faruqui
2004 . All Rights Reserved.