An Evening of Qawwali with Fareed Ayaz and Abu Mohammad Qawwals
By Neelo Faruqi
Pictures by Anwar Khawaja and Annie Athar

A sublime Mehfil e Sama, or Qawwali is when the Qawwals connect with the audience and transport them to the presence of the divine through masterful repetition and delivery of the sacred verses and compositions that have been passed down through generations. Such transcendence was witnessed at the performance of Fareed Ayaz, Abu Mohammad Qawwals and Brothers organized by the Pakistan Arts Council of Pacific Asia Museum.

The Qawwals are the embodiment of excellence in the art of Qawwali and succeeded in delivering a collective high as they mesmerized the audience and raised the tempo higher and higher as they performed one qawwali after another to a group of rapt, awe-struck viewers.

The Fareed Ayaz and Abu Mohammad Qawwali program was initiated and organized by the Pakistan Arts Council of Pacific Asia Museum, a volunteer group committed to promoting the arts and culture of Pakistan. The Arts Council comprises a group of dedicated Pakistani Americans who are focused on presenting the rich cultural and artistic heritage of Pakistan to a broad audience.

Perfection is the one word that comes to mind as one recollects the proceedings of the evening. There was perfection in the choice of the venue, a beautiful church auditorium with stained glass windows and arching high ceilings. Perfection in the pre-Qawwali tea setup in the shaded courtyard flanked by beautiful floral arrangements and serving delectable sweets, chaat and haleem which was catered by Elegant Party Designers. Perfection, of course, was also achieved in an absolutely enthralling performance by Fareed Ayaz, Abu Mohammad Qawwals and Brothers.

Perfection indeed was attained by an organization that embodies excellence and which has so beautifully demonstrated the sweet perfection of the culture of our beloved country.

The Pakistan Arts Council board members:Hina Abidi, President; Shaila Andrabi,

Ayesha Kamran, Atiya Khan, Ruquiya Khan, Kishwar Jaffer, Samira Saleh, Gazal Shauk, Annie Athar, Zara Shah, Tahira Ali, Filmina Amjad and Shahnilla Shoaib.




Editor: Akhtar M. Faruqui
2004 . All Rights Reserved.