PTI Holds Fundraiser in Anaheim
By Masood Syed
Pictures by Anwar Khawaja

Anaheim, CA: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Southern California Chapter hosted a fundraiser event for PTI on November 14th, 2014.  Ali Haider Zaidi, member of PTI Central Executive committee, was the keynote speaker on the occasion.  Mr Zaidi was on a tour of the US on behalf of PTI to raise funds and awareness for the Azadi March. Highlights of the event were a live address from the PTI Chairman Imran Khan via Skype, Ali Zaidi’s speech and enthusiastic participation in the fundraiser by the attendees.

 The event was hosted at Anaheim Plaza Hotel in Anaheim, CA and was attended by about three hundred  PTI supporters from all over Southern CA.  The proceedings started with a recitation of the Holy Qur'an and its translation by two young children, Eshal Burhan and Waleed Qazi.  Atiya Niyazi made the opening remarks and welcomed the audience. Dr Mohammad Razaq, President of PTI USA LLC addressed the gathering and apprised them up of the recent activities of PTI USA. Throughout the evening, PTI theme songs were played and video clips were projected.  After dinner, Imran Khan joined the event via Skype and was greeted by the crowd with PTI slogans and cheers.  The PTI chairman addressed the gathering and talked about the important role of overseas Pakistanis and reminded everyone about the value of the journey ahead.  Next Ali Zaidi addressed the audience and told them about the plight of the common man in Pakistan. He also shed light on the struggles and history of PTI.  The speeches were followed by a fundraiser in which the attendees participated with open hearts. Arshad Ali and t Project 26 band entertained the crowd with live music. The evening was wrapped up with everyone joining in and singing the national anthem of  Pakistan.

 This event was held with the support of PTI USA LLC board members Dr. M. Razaq and Sherry Khan and was organized with the support of a large team of PTI CA members and volunteers that included Mohammad Qazi, Faisal Khan, Sharjeel Aslam, Kamran Meraj, Atiya Niyazi, Raza Mubin, Fazal Haq, Shazia Syed, Awab Ali, Ausaf Ali, Faraz Akber, Mohammad Ahsan, Sana Husnain, Zafaryab, Nooreen Niazi, and this scribe.  




Editor: Akhtar M. Faruqui
2004 . All Rights Reserved.