Karachi Schools Win Big at the Harvard Model United Nations

  Karachi Grammar School (KGS) has won the best international delegation award, while The Lyceum bagged the best small delegation award at the Harvard Model United Nations (HMUN), 2016 which was held in Boston, United States.

Over 3,000 delegates and 300 faculty advisers representing over 199 countries participated in the MUN, debating issues of international importance. The 63rd HMUN session was held from Thursday, January 28, to Sunday, January 31, at the Sheraton Boston Hotel under the guidance of a staff comprising more than 200 Harvard University undergraduates.

Other Pakistani schools that attended HMUN included Aitchison College from Lahore and Roots Millennium from Islamabad.

HMUN has three main delegation awards: Best Small Delegation for teams with less than 10 members, Best Large Delegation for teams with 10 or more members, and Best International Delegation.

A 14-member team participated in the HMUN, the KGS team’s debate head told   The Express Tribune. The KGS team also won all the debate competitions in Karachi before heading to Boston to compete in the internationally recognized event. The team won the best delegation award at Zabmun-VIII, MUNIK-7 and BAYMUN 2015.

The president of the Lyceum Debate and MUN Society, Adeel Khalique Shaikh, said that they bagged the Best Small Delegation award, which is for teams with less than 10 members.

The Lyceum team consisted of eight members, all of whom won awards, with two best delegates, two outstanding diplomacy winners and four honorable mentions. “Each member of our delegation won an award. We sent an eight-member team and we have eight awards in our school with the best small delegation as well,” Shaikh told   The Express Tribune.

The KGS delegation included Uzair Saqib, Zainab Saeed, Taimur Ahmed Mian, Ghasharib Shoukat, Suroor Rahimtoola, Nasha Kanga, Laleh Ahmed, Rahul Bherwani, Channan Hanif, Zarak Quraishi, Riva Effendi, Hakim Faiz, Shahzel Najam and Leila Khan. The eight-member team from Lyceum comprised Bakhtawar Atta, Aleena Aamir, Wasay Peracha, Zulqarnain Aamir, Janian Shah, Obaid Rehman, Maheen Naveed and Amsel Bilal. - The Express Tribune


Editor: Akhtar M. Faruqui
2004 pakistanlink.com . All Rights Reserved.