First phase of sixth population census concludes: 63 districts done with

ISLAMABAD The first phase of the sixth population census concluded with 63 districts across the country on Saturday.

The first phase commenced on March 15 and conducted in eight districts of Sindh, 16 districts of Punjab, 14 districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, 15 districts of Balochistan, five districts of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, and five districts of Gilgit-Baltistan.

Cities covered in the first phase of the Census in Punjab included Jhang, Chiniot, Faisalabad, Toba Tek Singh, Dera Ghazi Khan, Rajanpur, Layyah, Muzaffargarh, Lahore, Hafizabad, Narrowal, Sialkot, Vehari, Bahawalpur, Pakpattan, and Attock.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the cities included in the first phase were Peshawar, Mardan, Swabi, Charsadda, Nowshera, Laki Marwat, Dera Ismail Khan, Hangu, Abbotabad, Haripur, Mansehra, Battagram, Turghar, and Orakzai Agency

Gilgit, Baltistan, Ghanche, Nagar, and Ghizer were parts of Gilgit-Baltistan where the data collection activities were carried out

Balochistan’s cities Awaran, Quetta, Lesbela, Dera Bughti, Kohlu, Musakhel, Washuq, Kharan, Kalat, Jafarabad, Naseerabad, Pishin, Noshki, and Lehri were part of the first phase of the population census

In Sindh, data collection activities were carried out in districts Karachi West, Karachi South, Karachi East Korangi, Karachi Central, and Malir. Cities included in the process were Hyderabad and Ghotki.

In Azad Jammu and Kashmir, the first phase of the Census was conducted in Muzaffarabad, Bagh, Sudhnoti, Kotli, and Bhimber.

The second phase of the Census will supposedly start on April 25 and 88 districts across the country will be part of the data collection exercise.



Back to Top